‘Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead’ Documentary Thoughts

Standard

My first Friday night back at Michigan State University during the last semester of my undergraduate career, and I spend it watching an educational documentary. Nonetheless, I do not regret this decision as I was able to stumble upon one of the most inspiring stories I’ve seen so far and the overall message from Joe Cross’s,  Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead is quite genuine. However, while bias may influence my tastes, this documentary discusses the issues of diseases such as autoimmune disorders and other cardiovascular and metabolic illnesses that are near and dear to my heart.  My father is diagnosed with Type II Diabetes and an autoimmune disorder known as Myasthenia Gravis, and my mother has a previous history of stroke and cardiovascular problems. What’s more frustrating than knowing that you have the power to fix a problem, is the fact that you still aren’t able to establish a change and ignite an epiphany.  For those who can relate, or those who are interested,*caution spoilers!* ‘Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead’ examines two main characters who follow a fruit/vegetable juice fast for 60 days.  With a short period of struggle and pain, both characters undergo dramatic weight loss and discover the positive benefits associated with their dietary choices.

When I was home this past winter break, I saw how my dad’s autoimmune disorder changed him. I wanted to do everything in my power to help him, and started trying to make green (vegetable) smoothies. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to keep my word as our schedules differed. I’m glad I gave this documentary a chance and I forwarded it to both of my parents in hope that they’d watch it.  Hopefully they take this to heart, because I wont give up trying to instill that health is a major priority.

Maybe someday I’ll attempt a 60 day juice fast and document the changes and feelings I experience on that journey. For now, if you’re interested in nutrition, fasting and health I would recommend this documentary. Afterall…

‘70% of the diseases that affect us now are caused by our life choices: how we exercise, if we smoke and what we eat.’ – Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead

Leave a Reply

